remove ad

Pluto saves the day
06 February, 2002 :: 5:38 a.m.

Just a splash as he breaks the surface...a few drops cascade down...a wet sticky *splat* as body strikes floor...Marbled skin, orange and white...wet and slightly slimy looking...flipping and flopping across the hardwood floor...one bulging, unblinking eye staring up toward the ceiling...one bulging,unblinking eye (presumably) staring at the scuffed wood of the floor...egg-shaped mouth opening, closing...getting nearer, flipping and pushing with that orange-white gossamer tail...slit in head opening, closing rapidly in concert with mouth...coming closer, closer, directly toward me...where to run?...jump up on couch, yelling for Dad to come save me...flash of black fur flying from back of couch...Dad walks in drying hands on towel...Pluto sits licking his paws...only a wet trail from tank to cat gives a hint of what just went on...

I had nightmares about this for years...a giant goldfish jumping out of the tank specifically to get at me...Pluto never comes to save me in the dreams...looking back I feel somewhat guilty that the fish died, but I was only maybe 18 months old or so...I thought the damn thing was coming to get me...Time to go back to reading Moby Dick now...

Previous :: Next