remove ad

All the news that's fit to print...
08 June, 2002 :: 7:47 a.m.

So what's been up with me? Let's see...

Wednesday was kind of blah for the most part...I ended up going to do laundry and since it's right near the bar, after my clothes were in the washing machines, I went to see who was there...why do I do this when I don't really know that many people? Fuck if I know. I figured at best I would see a few people I recognized, nod my head in their general directions and drink my beer then get the hell out...Instead I ran into Amber and Dwayne from wal-mart. I always thought Amber was stuck up or didn't like me based on things she's heard from others because she's one of those people who barely ever even seem to notice me when I walk by...not a big deal, it's just how I thought she was--BUT Tara told her that Chuck is interested in her (which isn't exactly true, he just asked Tara who she was), so now all the sudden she walks over and starts talking to me. She ended up being pretty cool and she's not bad looking, but I just don't know if I could hook her up with Chuck. She has a reputation for sleeping around and, while I don't think she deserves or has earned some of the things people have said about her, by her own admission she did start playing the field after breaking up with her boyfriend of three years. There's nothing wrong with that, even if she had slept with all of them I suppose, but I get the impression that she still isn't done playing the field...so I guess all I can do is leave it up to Chuck whether to set up a meeting between them the next time he is down and see what happens. I really don't see them being compatible as a couple, but they may at least get along and, hey, whatever happens after that is up to them. Or maybe he'll think she's an airhead and tell me never to try hooking him up again...we'll see what becomes of this later I suppose.

Anyway, I left to go finish my laundry shortly before last call, but not before exchanging AIM screen names with Amber and Dwayne and giving Amber Chuck's as well. So I went and took care of the laundry and came home. I was wide awake so I decided to check my e-mail and who is on but Dwayne. He IM's me and we do the small talk thing and then he asks if he can ask me a question without me getting pissed off...I thought he was going to ask something about work...to my surprise he asks if I would ever consider hooking up with him--Say What?! I knew Dwayne was gay, but I don't know if he was just fucking with me or whether maybe it wasn't even him, maybe Amber (who was sleeping at Dwayne's that night before work) was the one I was really talking to while Dwayne was doing something else entirely, maybe a lot of things, I have no idea...I tell him I have a girl and that I don't really dig guys (honestly when I look at most men, I don't know why any females are attracted to guys either), but that I'm not pissed or offended or anything--I don't care whether it's a guy or a girl that tries to pick me up, it's just nice to be desired. This is the second time I've had a guy hit on me--assuming the guy in York last summer wasn't just fucking with me because he knew I was straight, and, like I said, maybe Dwayne was fucking with me also...but then he invites me over and I figure what the hell? I'm not busy and I'm awake so I go over and hang out and Dwayne starts talking on the phone so I'm just sitting there chatting w/ Amber and trying to see if she's someone I could see Chuck being with and she seems to be cool at least whether or not she's a match for Chuck. She had to work at 9 and had a 20 minute ride home to get showered and changed before heading to work, so she had the alarm set for 6:30 and we're sitting there chatting and it's 3:45, then 4:15, then 4:30...finally about quarter to 5 I leave so that she won't keep talking and maybe have a chance to go to sleep assuming she doesn't just keep chatting with Dwayne...but it was cool to run into two people that I knew from work, but didn't really know that well or even at all and to get invited over to hang out for a bit in the middle of the night...

So I woke up Thursday around noon and was getting ready for PT when it dawns on me that this is the first time in over a month now that I've gotten up and not immediately noticed a pain in my neck or back. In fact, I feel great...outside is a steady, but not heavy, rain falling which is perfect, plus it means it's not sunny out and it's actually nearly perfect temperature-wise...you can't ask for a better day in my opinion--I don't like it when it gets hotter than, say 75 degrees and I havent's been enjoying the sun at all lately--absolutely beautiful, perfect day.

So I went to PT, got my neck rub and stretching and my excercises and it was great. I then walked down main street splashing in puddles with my sandals on and freestyling...don't ask what the hell I was saying because I haven't a clue, but if you ever wanna get people on the street to avoid you and possibly even cross to the other side of the street...

I was just in a really good mood all day long, it was so nice...being happy like that is almost like a drug and I always want to get more of it, but I never know when it's going to leave and I don't know how to score more of it.

In other news, my jacket reeks of vanilla musk because I sprayed Larry and Tim both with some flowery smelling body mist stuff at work last night and, idiot that I am, never thought about my jacket sitting in the back. I used to be much better at this and take precautions before getting someone at work, but this was kind of on the fly...Nancy, our new overnight manager who replaced Jim K. (the manager I'll never forget for his, "You get some paper towels to stop his bleeding" "You get a mop and bucket" "Mike, you need to run him to the hospital...nevermind, John get him to the hospital--NOW!" when I had the accident at work), walked up and handed me the body mist and told me to help her get Larry and Tim--hey, she's management (granted so is Tim, but boy had it coming) so I have to listen to her... Of course it was Larry and John (who up until this point wasn't involved) who gave my coat the bath--and of course picked vanilla musk which is one of my all time least favorite scents and makes me sick to my stomach. Larry should know better...I don't let people get even, I have to stay ahead...and John...John, John, John, you should know better by now, son...you know I get people back and make it a point to one-up them...you started something you will regret...this reminds me, my jacket is still in the trunk of the car because it's the only place I could tolerate it for the drive home. Luke Cage has been awakened and you boys will pay. Tim--now that's a different story entirely...him I respect for his ability to get revenge and I'm gonna have to be on my toes at all times when he's around...never let my guard down because he'll wait a month if that's what it takes, but he will try to get me back...and it's likely he'll enlist Larry and John, so I must alert. Tim's favorite method of revenge: catch you unaware and whack you in the balls...no, no, no, not this puppy, nuh uh.

Previous :: Next