remove ad

Wearing thin
19 November, 2002 :: 11:25 a.m.

I have a tendency to overstay my welcome, I have a tendency to wear thin the patience of those I know and talk to...will you miss me when I'm gone? Will you notice? If so, will you notice should I come back? I somehow doubt it. Notice me? The personification of the invisible man? The one "out of sight, out of mind" was coined for? If my disappearance is noticed, it will be that vague sense you get when you smell a scent that triggers a memory from long ago, but you can't quite bring it to the front--any thought of me will bring that sudden warmth of familiarity, but before you can place your finger on it, it will be gone again and so will I.

It's Chuck's birthday so everybody wish Chuck a big happy birthday. My best friend since 3rd grade is now turning 27 and I'll be following in a little more than a month. In my mind we're still in 3rd grade playing Thundercats, riding bikes, throwing a football back and forth for hours while we talk. In my mind we're still in high school when we talked for hours on the phone because we lived an hour apart, but still somehow managed to go through almost the same experiences at almost the same time and still had a good time when we got together. In my mind we're still fresh from graduation and wondering what to do next. I'm still wondering; he's a teacher and now lives 2 1/2 hours away...we still hang out, still talk, but very infrequently...I miss my friend, but there's no going back...life moves forward toward a final point, but we all take our own paths there...

Who needs a cigarette? Coffee? me...

I need a break...

Previous :: Next