remove ad

total crap
14 June, 2004 :: 5:56 p.m.

And I was doing so well with regular entries for a little bit...

We are now a society of classes at [email protected] make things more "fair" those who make the idiot decisions for the company decided that they needed to restructure everything...the best part is overnight stockers, of which I'm one are now listed as class 2...this is out of 7 classes with 7 being the most important. we on 3rd shift who are constantly told we are the backbone of the company and do most of the work are now higher than who? the cart guys and the people greeters...well woo-fucking-hoo! First of all I don't mean to demean the cart guys because that's where I started and I know what a shitty job it is...everyone already thinks they can boss them around and now, thanks to the different class levels, everyone will think they are justified in telling the cart guys what to do.

Apparently one reason for this is to make the pay structure more fair...the higher your class, the higher the starting pay (they adjusted what people are making now and, of course, most of us on nights with the exception of a very few new people were told we're already making enough). None of the levels make much sense and now I want to know what exactly my job classification is because the morons who work days and evenings who stand around and talk to everyone else are higher than us because they have to do customer service things like cutting keys, dipping fish, writing out hunting and fishing licenses, etc. I do a lot of those things also...but if that's a class 3 job, then fuck you, I'm not doing it anymore. I don't mean for this to sound angry, just annoyed.

The thing that makes me angry is the apparent trend in our store...in the last 6 months or so more than a few associates have been let go for bullshit reasons, but with the assurance of management that they can be rehired in 90 days. Convenient...this way if the person comes back (and most of them do because there are few jobs in the area), w@lmart gets someone who is already trained and they can start them back off at a lower rate of pay than they were making when they were "let go"...

So that's it for my bitching about work...I felt writing more, but it's too damn hot right now...

Previous :: Next