remove ad

The sweet sting of regret
15 June, 2005 :: 4:37 a.m.

It's amazing to me how you can have a relationship with someone, have these incredibly deep feelings for someone, and still, eventually, you get over them, you can see places that the two of you shared and maybe not even think about them, or at least if you do, it doesn't hurt...but more importantly this train of though revolves around music...

Any serious relationship is going to result in songs that the two of you share and, should the relationship end, those songs tear you up inside for awhile, but you get over it. I can listen to any song tied to anyone I've had a deep relationship with without dying on the inside (for the most part...I mean maybe on a really depressing night where I'm reminiscing and already sad a song might do me in, but on most days, I can hear it, maybe think of the person, maybe not, and I'm fine)...

The thing that gets me is that a song that I tie to someone I dreamed (or still do dream) of having a deep relationship with, something that makes me think of someone who may have never been any real part of my life or maybe was a friend but never really in my life as much as I wanted...those songs still hurt because they are wrapped around an unknown. The song reignites thoughts and regrets and reminds me of ways I let a possibility slip away...or maybe it was an impossibility, but still sweet to think about...

What song prompted this entry? That would be telling...obviously someone who never made it as far into my life as I would have liked...

Previous :: Next