remove ad

Another general and pointless bitch fest--but overall I'm happy with life, I swear
20 May, 2003 :: 10:40 p.m.

Well this break from school ain't starting off so hot...

My car failed two inspections in four days...yay! The first lasted all of 5 minutes because the guy saw the broken side mirror on the passenger side of the car and thought it over, then told me he couldn't pass it...you legally only need two mirrors, but apparently there's some shit about technically whatever the car came with, it's supposed to have or some shit...he was totally nice about it and generally seemed sorry...he is apparently new and afraid that he is being watched over, so he didn't dare do it...but it was okay because Jerry called the other place I'd already scheduled an apointment for today (yeah, I'm real confident in my car) and they told him that as long as it had the driver's side mirror and rearview mirror, it would be fine...

So yeah, it passed that much of the inspection, but once the guy got the car into the air (He wasn't supposed to look that thoroughly...he's the same guy that passed it last year, but there were two apparent overlords watching him, so he was being extra careful--just my luck), he began finding problems...it needs new shocks--this was not a surprise...it apparently has a small hole in the floor under the driver's side which is a no-no...then he asks me if the gas tank is new because for some reason it looks much cleaner and newer than the rest of the underside of my car (I'd never gotten such a look at my car...and I hope to never have to again) and while he's looking at the tank, he notices that the gas line is corroded and looking generally really bad...so strike three, I'm out of luck. All of these things are repairable, but I don't want the damn car anymore, so why put the money into it? I appreciate him being thorough in that if I were keeping the car this is all stuff I'd want to know about to have fixed...but I just want a damn inspection sticker on the windshield so I can drive the thing around to look for another vehicle...without worrying that it'll run me $100 every time I get pulled over. I've been lucky to only be nailed once so far, but the weather is getting nice, this is when I want to be able to just hop in the car and drive if I feel like it. I feel trapped with this car...a car isn't supposed to make you feel trapped, it's supposed to make you feel free. I'm really not stressing on this, it wasn't that big a surprise that it failed (with the exception of the gas line which now has me paranoid I'll erupt in a giant fireball as I drive down the road). But I just want some place that will slap an inspection sticker on and give me the chance to find another car.

In other news, work is becoming increasingly stressful...Chad the new manager on nights--the stupid fucking Sig Tau brother with a Napolean Complex--is a spy. I swear he was sent to nights to just spy on people and find reasons to get rid of them...that's all he does it seems is lurk around and try to catch people fucking off. I made a great impression on him his first night when Keagle was chasing me with a boat oar so I picked up a fishing pole and we were sword fighting as he came around the corner; the next time he saw me I was trying to make riser space for overstock and I had one foot on the top of the ladder and one foot on a shelf and was ripping off the stupid "Please Ask for Assistance" piece of plastic that wasn't allowing the stuff I wanted to riser to fit properly; the next time I was standing talking; the next I was pulling around an empty L-cart...so yeah, he seems to think I'm one of the people that requires a round-the-clock babysitter...forget that I can throw as much freight as almost anyone else on the GM side of the store and I'm one of the few who don't whine about helping out in grocery or getting stuck doing stupid things like watering plants on a night it's just above freezing. When you actually work with him, he's fine...but when he's not helping with freight, he's wandering and spying, wandering and timing your breaks, wandering and looking like a walking, talking penis (he does). And part of his Napolean Complex is that he seems to enjoy writing people up to prove that he's a real man and shouldn't be fucked with.

Argghh...I would rant more about work but it would be insanely dull for anyone not working at our store and familiar with the people and it's not something I care to remember all that much of in detail later on...I'm just sick of it because it's always the people who actually work who get targeted for termination...and once their sights are locked on to you, they'll nit pick every little thing you do to see they get rid of you. It's Sandy's turn right now, and once they get rid of her, it may be Lacey's turn...why? She has a mind of her own and I think Joy feels threatened by that coupled with the fact that Lacey could outwork Joy any night of the week...it's documented in the little book they keep...Lacey's box count is always the highest of anyone out on the floor--including Joy who is supposed to be the lead associate. But will they let Lacey out of grocery to do something else? Oh no...that would be simple...get as much work out of her as you can, then try to get rid of her. If it's not Lacey's turn after Sandy, it'll be Jerry's...or maybe they'll go after both of them at the same time...

On a selfish sidenote to the fact that I like Lacey and Jerry and don't want to see either of them getting stressed out or in trouble or fired, we also just signed a lease for a place that I can't afford by myself so if one or the other of them lost their job, we'd all be fucked. Ok, end of walmart rant for now...

I want to stop skipping days at a time in my diary and write about other things on my mind besides the trivial day-to-day shit, but there just hasn't been much opportunity for that lately.

That's it for now, end of another pointless rant...I have laundry to do which I can only do under the cover of darkness with my still-illegal car. Then a night of doing not much else ahead of me after that...but it's a night off, I'll just be happy for that...

Previous :: Next