remove ad

Slave to invisible forces
24 September, 2003 :: 2:36 p.m.

I haven't been updating lately because I haven't been doing shit lately...I've been an automaton more or less...I've gone to work, gone to class and done not much else. Very blah. But today as I was in the shower getting ready for class, I realized I was in a good mood and feeling generally okay about the world...we'll see how long that lasts...

Stupid Isabel knocked our power out for 2 fucking days. How the fuck did people survive before electricity??? It sucked monkey butt. I am a slave to a usually invisible force that I have zero control over. The best part was, of course, it was Lacey's and my night off and we were wide awake and watching a movie at 3:whatever in the morning when the storm rolled through and knocked out power...we step outside to check things out and it's pitch black (of course), we step around the side of the building and all of downtown Mansfield is lit up still...wtf? So Friday I call the electric company to be informed that no, we have Penelec, not Tri-county as 99% of Mansfield apparently does. Penelec is the reason we've had odd power outages all summer long that haven't affected the rest of Mansfield... When I call Penelec to see if they have some estimate as to how long power will be out (it had already gone past the 12 hour mark), the woman asks for my address, I give it to her, she says, "Mansfield...is that anywhere near York?" !!!!NO, it's not fucking near York!!!! Opposite ends of the state, dumbass. This of course filled me with assurance that our power would be on in no time. As did seeing 2 or 3 guys standing around one of the poles on our rode staring up at it while no one did anything, then disappearing and reappearing a couple hours later with reinforcements...apparently it takes more like 8-9 guys to stare up in the air and do nothing. So power was not restored until Saturday afternoon...by which time I had failed in my attempts to contact anyone in my family to get directions to my step-sister's wedding...so a great, great weekend. I still have no idea what people did before electric though...apparently that's why they didn't mind working in the fields from sunrise to sunset...

Previous :: Next