remove ad

Hands Off!!!
22 August, 2002 :: 1:46 p.m.

A little more upbeat than last entry...

Aaron began telling me a story last night...not really a story but an anecdote. It is related to my mental lapses which lead me to do things such as rename the Statue of Liberty the Spatula of Mystery--true story...I was tired.

But back to Aaron's anecdote...he was relaying a story of a similar lapse his own brain had...he was at a restaurant for breakfast when he noticed a sign that said �Don�t Touch the Blinds.� Now Aaron continued on with his story, but I had a Homer Simpson moment where he gets lost in his own imagination:

An image popped up in my head of a restaurant that has a section for blind people, much as they have a smoking section. I imagined this sign being posted at the beginning of the �blind section� and ignoring it�in my head I was running through the section filled with people wearing dark sunglasses and smacking the backs of their heads or just tapping them on the shoulders or poking them in their sides�I started giggling at the idea of tormenting all these people who wouldn�t be able to see me or tell what was going on. Aaron stopped his story to see what I found so amusing since he hadn�t gotten to the part of his story that was funny. I explained what I was seeing in my head and then apologized to him and asked him to finish�he explained that since he wasn�t fully awake, he read �Don�t Touch the�� and his mind simply inserted �Monkeys� where �Blinds� belonged�

Now it�s funny to picture Aaron sitting there and looking up and thinking he sees a sign that is telling him not to touch the monkeys and the thought popping into his head, �Where? What monkeys?� To me though, it�s still way more amusing to picture myself running through a dining room full of blind people taking turns touching each and every one of them and tormenting them while ignoring the sign�

Previous :: Next