remove ad

Sovereign, yeah, sure...
27 June, 2004 :: 4:44 p.m.

I want to stab out my eardrums every single time I hear on the news that we're handing the government over to Iraq on Wednesday. Better yet, I'd like to strangle the news people and government officials who keep using the term "sovereignty" when talking about Iraq.

To be sovereign means you are free from outside control, that you are free to make all of your own decisions...now explain to me how Iraq will be a sovereign nation with the U.S. military still wandering around doing whatever they wish to do... I have a hard time believing that Bush or any of his cabinet or idiot supporters would consider the U.S. a sovereign nation if some other country's military were roaming around performing their own objectives and the U.S. government was not free to say, "Ok, enough is enough...get the hell out."

I can't help but feel that the moment the new government of Iraq starts to veer in a direction that the U.S. does not want them to, we'll (I say we purely because I unfortunately am a citizen of this country and therefore guilty by association) be right in their pulling the strings and telling them how they have to run things.

Previous :: Next