remove ad

Ed Wood
12 March, 2002 :: 2:36 a.m.

I am beyond happy right now...and yet I'm miffed...perturbed if you will. "Ed Wood" is on TCM. This is one of the most brilliant, funny movies I've ever seen. If you haven't seen it, shame on you.

I just the other day managed to fix the remote to my vcr...it had received one too many encounters with the floor and stopped working...to make matters worse, the power was shut off and my vcr has to be programmed for channels above 13 and has no controls on the actual vcr to do this...so I was pretty much screwed. I bought a new remote, but it had no button that would open the menu on my vcr to allow me to program in the upper channels. So I thought I was going to miss out on "Ed Wood" altogether. I was supposed to work tonight and I didn't think I'd be able to record it. I missed a chance to pick up a vhs version of the movie at wal-mart about three years ago for $6 and I'd been kicking myself ever since. Finally I tore the remote to my vcr apart in frustration the other day figuring it already didn't work, so I couldn't make it any worse. Eureeka! I got it to work.

So now I am taping "Ed Wood" and I missed work tonight so I'm going to settle in a watch it...while trying to work on homework at the same time (sure, that'll work). I'm so happy because I absolutely love this movie...have ever since it was released. I'm telling you this film is great. Ed Wood really, truly was a bad moviemaker, but he had such a love and passion for movies. It'd be like me trying to write a book...a laughable mess, but my heart'd be in the right place.

So why am I miffed? This movie is not on DVD yet! Pat and I have looked everywhere and it simply is not on DVD. Why not? Every other Tim Burton film I can think of is on DVD and this movie won Academy Awards. That doesn't matter to me, what matters is I like the film. But you'd think that an award winning movie like this would be on DVD. Ed Wood's own movies are on DVD for Christ's sake. They're fun, but man are they bad... "Visits? That would imply visitors." Wonderful dialogue like that. But this movie shows how hard he tried to become a serious filmmaker. It was his dream and he went for it. You gotta love that.

Johnny Depp plays Ed Wood and, along with Robert Downey, Jr. from my last entry, he is one of the brilliant actors of our time. He can pretty much do anything he puts his mind to. Tim Burton, Johnny Depp, George "The Animal" Steele from the WWF, Sarah Jessica Parker, Martin Landau...how can you go wrong with this movie? If you haven't seen it, you should. It's funny, sad, brilliant. Now go watch it. Then write to Touchstone and demand that they release it on DVD. If I've somehow missed it and it is available on DVD, let me know.

Previous :: Next